.

Patch's Poll: Are You Better Off Than You Were Four Years Ago?

As we head into the meat of the election season, that's the question everyone is asking. How do you feel?

 

With the national conventions in the rearview mirror and the election season fullly under way, both parties are asking Ronald Reagan's famed 1980 question of voters: Are you better off than you were four years ago?

In 2008, the economy was in a freefall just prior to the presidential election. While the country has technically emerged from recession, only 96,000 jobs were added in August and the national unemployment rate is still above 8 percent, according to cnn.com.

Connecticut's unemployment rate was 8.5 percent in July, the latest statistics available. That was above the national unemployment rate of 8.3 percent that month.

That's the big picture, but how have things changed for you on a personal level?

Take our poll and elaborate in the comments.

Think Positive September 21, 2012 at 07:15 PM
Need a laugh? http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/republican-vp-candidates-past-and-present/2012/08/30/232d1282-f2c2-11e1-adc6-87dfa8eff430_video.html
Think Positive September 21, 2012 at 07:22 PM
Need a laugh or 2? http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/romney-unveils-his-energy-plan/2012/08/23/31fde6a4-ed88-11e1-9ddc-340d5efb1e9c_video.html http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/romney-offers-his-opinion-on-the-47-percent/2012/09/18/c56d791c-01e8-11e2-b260-32f4a8db9b7e_video.html http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/mitt-romney-tries-a-different-tactic-to-get-a-bounce-in-the-polls/2012/09/10/6f4060be-fba2-11e1-8adc-499661afe377_video.html http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/romney-talks-to-his-chair/2012/08/31/7c6d17e8-f38f-11e1-adc6-87dfa8eff430_video.html
Think Positive September 21, 2012 at 07:34 PM
But wait, there's more. http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/romney-dances-around-ryan-budget/2012/08/14/d4d92b7e-e66a-11e1-8741-940e3f6dbf48_video.html http://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/justice-scalia-vents/2012/09/20/5cf4498a-0376-11e2-8102-ebee9c66e190_video.html http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q26rwoY4fFc http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=38GB2hf8iFo http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v6yQudb8xes (this one is really funny) http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/tue-september-18-2012/the-millionaire-gaffemaker
Virginia Abernathy September 21, 2012 at 10:23 PM
I'm better off today. I have a better paying job and better benefits. I worked hard and got my Master's in accounting and it paid off. It took a bit to find my current job and I took crappy jobs in the meantime and even collected unemployment for 2 months but I never gave up.
Think Positive September 21, 2012 at 11:11 PM
Remember, it’s only a handout when it benefits someone else. If it benefits you then you’ve obviously “earned it”.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »